Congratulations 2023 GPHA Award Winners

Some of public health’s most passionate advocates were recognized during the 2023 GPHA Annual Meeting and Conference in Jekyll Island during the presentation of section awards and the Sellers-McCroan Award.

Click any link below to learn more about the award recipient. Congratulations to all of these public health champions!

  • Al Dohany Community Service Award: Lisa Crossman, MS
  • Jules S. Terry Memorial Award: Eleanor Garlow, MPH
  • Fred Agel Governance Award: Lisa Cupid, JD
  • Academic Section Award: Raymona Lawrence, DrPH, MPH
  • Nutrition Outstanding Leadership Award: Kayla Mathis, MS
  • Rosemarie B. Newman Nutrition Extra Mile Award: Kenya Owens, Med, RD, LD, CLC
  • Larry W. Miller Health Information Specialist Award: Unsona Tate
  • Administration Outstanding Service Award: Valerie Prince, BA
  • Applied Epidemiologist of the Year Award: Jocelyn Love, MPH
  • Stancliff Boone Communicable Disease Specialist Award: Frank Grier, MPH
  • Environmental Health Specialist of the Year Award: Terry Ferrell, BS, RS
  • Environmental Health Innovations Award: Tim Callahan, MPH
  • J. Patrick O’Neal Safety and Health Preparedness Award: Shalonna Stewart, FNP-C
  • Georgia Dental Award of Merit: Tarem Hendricks, DMD
  • Maggie Kline Nursing Award: Joy Langley, R.N.
  • Ruth B. Freeman Nursing Award for Population Health: Pepa Koleva, FNP-C
  • Lillian D. Wald Public Health Nursing Award: Teresa Hritz, R.N.
  • Barfield Nursing Award: Kimberly Allen, MS, PhD
  • President Award Recipients: Cindi Hart and Morris Hutcheson
  • Sellars-McCroan Award Recipients: Dr. Christopher Gulledge, Rachel Franklin, and Savannah Hardin