Congratulations 2024 GPHA Award Winners

Some of public health’s most passionate advocates were recognized during the 2024 GPHA Annual Meeting and Conference in Jekyll Island during the presentation of section awards and the Sellers-McCroan Award.

Congratulations to all of these public health champions!

  • Al Dohany Community Service Award: Danielle Sayre
  • Kathy Milner Health Education and Promotion Award: Mecca Mason
  • Jules S. Terry Memorial Award: Valerie Fraley
  • Fred Agel Governance Award: Chris Tsavatewa, DSc, MP
  • Academic Section Award: Sherry Farr
  • Communications Excellence Award: Valerie Crow
  • Rosemarie B. Newman Nutrition Extra Mile Award: Lisa Murray
  • Administration Outstanding Service Award: Melinda Bryant
  • Applied Epidemiologist of the Year Award: Mareike Haaren
  • Stancliff Boone Communicable Disease Specialist Award: Marie Paul-David
  • Environmental Health Specialist of the Year Award: Gina Smith
  • Early Career Environmental Health Specialist of the Year Award: Linda Marrazzo
  • J. Patrick O’Neal Safety and Health Preparedness Award: Susan Beckham
  • Maggie Kline Nursing Award: Virginia Russell
  • Ruth B. Freeman Nursing Award for Population Health: Chrissa Shaffer
  • Lillian D. Wald Public Health Nursing Award: Lupita Maria Trejo Lozaro
  • Barfield Nursing Award: Kimberly Allen, MS, PhD
  • President Award Recipients: Angie Peden, MPH
  • Sellars-McCroan Award Recipients: Team Members of Georgia Public Health Laboratories, 2020-2023