GPHA Presents Numerous Awards during 2013 Conference

Many hard-working public health employees and advocates were recognized for their efforts in advancing the public’s health during the 2013 GPHA Awards Luncheon. The luncheon was part of the 84th Annual Meeting and Conference held on April 23rd in Atlanta.

Prior to the presentation of awards, Dr. Paul Voss addressed the attendees. Voss is the President of Ethikos and an Associate Professor at Georgia State University.


Following the address and the meal, plaques were presented to all award recipients.

2013 GPHA Award Recipients

Click here to view photographs from the Awards Ceremony.

Honorary Member Award – Christy L. Sims

Al Dohany Award for Community Services – James E. Crissey, Alpha Fowler Bryan, Gail Webb

Behavioral Health Award – J. Paul Newell, Cynthia Allen Wainscott

Jules S. Terry Memorial Award – Robbie Bowman

Administrative Leadership Award – Jim Griffin

Environmentalist of the Year Award – Tim Callahan

Fred Agel Governance Section Award – Margaret M. Martin

GA Dental Public Health Award of Merit – Adam J. Doss

Janet Stancliff Epidemiology Award – Hollard Phillips

Kathy Miner Health Education and Promotion Award – Elizabeth C. Greeby

Larry W. Miller Health Information Specialist of the Year – Colin K. Smith

Maggie Kline Nursing Award – Cindy Grovenstein

Maternal and Child Health Award – Mimi Collins

Office Personnel Outstanding Service Award – Libby McGill

Primary Health Care Leadership Award – Cathy Green

Rosemarie B. Newman Nutrition Extra Mile Award – Cristina Gibson

Outstanding Leadership Award – Teresa Knight