GPHA Awards Public Health Champions

This week, more than 20 of public health’s most passionate advocates were honored for their commitment to improving the health of all Georgians. The GPHA Awards Luncheon was held Tuesday, March 11 during the Annual Meeting and Conference. The yearly ceremony provides members an opportunity to recognize exceptional colleagues, partners or agencies for outstanding work in various public health fields.

Dr. Diane Weems served as this year’s Awards Committee Chair. “Sometimes public health workers are unsung heroes. They spend each day caring for and protecting people in their communities, many of whom they may never meet,” said Weems. “They may seldom receive thanks, which is why we need to let these public health champions know we value their commitment.”

GPHA congratulates the following award winners. Click here for photos of the award recipients.

  • Honorary GPHA Membership: Lisa M. Carlson and C. Todd Jones
  • Al Dohany Award for Community Service: Paula M. Frew
  • Jules S. Terry Memorial Award: Donna Cadwell
  • Administration Outstanding Service Award: Dianne McWethy
  • Behavioral Health Worker of the Year Award: JP Banks
  • Environmentalist of the Year Award: Scott Uhlich
  • Fred Agel Governance Award: Dan Stephens
  • Georgia Dental Award of Merit: Richard Webber
  • Janet Stancliff Epidemiology Award: Michelle L. Allen
  • Kathy Miner Health Education and Promotion Award: Melissa (Moose) Alperin
  • Larry W. Miller Health Information Specialist Award: Roland Brown
  • Lillian D. Wald Public Health Nursing Award: Deidre Howell
  • Maggie Kline Nursing Award: Wanda Aker
  • Maternal and Child Health Community Service Award: The Clayton County Perinatal and Infant Health Coalition
  • Office Personnel Outstanding Service Award: Dominique Hardman
  • Primary Health Care Leadership Award: Debbie P. Hagins
  • Ruth B. Freeman Award for Population Health Practice: Patricia Ellis